Answers

I asked about some input yesterday, and I received a comment that I wanted to expand on. The comment was this…blog 014

 

“I was wondering if you might be willing to reflect on the processes that someone who requires the services of a service dog might go through if/when they outlive the span of their companion? I know it is a painful thought to consider, and therefore infrequently discussed… but it’s for this very reason that I’ve been so unable to find answers! Because I’m attached to my service dog… can another dog really help me the way she does, when she’s gone? Will I be too hurt to ever let in that love again, and therefore be cut off from help forever??

 

If you could talk about this… I’d be very grateful…” –    Commenter Abbyblog 015

 

blog 019I’m not really sure where I would start as this is something I myself am questioning. Shimmer is my first service dog and as she approaches 8 1/2 years, I consider when to retire her and allow my younger dog to take over. Questions that go through my mind are, how will Shimmer feel? Will I expect too much of Vengeance? How will Vengeance take to the job? Will I cause Shimmer to become depressed or sad? Will I cause her worry? Will I cause myself worry? None of these questions can unfortunately be answered definitely, just figuratively. I do believe that another dog can help us the way our current service animals do, we just have to be willing to be open to the idea of it. Often we are so rigid in our thought process that we don’t always allow ourselves the change that we NEED. So, to answer the question in the end, I do no believe you will be too hurt. We are all different but at the same time, we have to take the chance and hope that we will get what we need and what we are deserving of. We all deserve help and happiness. That is the point of this blog.

 

I’d also like to share that today was a fun day. Class went by quickly and afterwards we came home and went to the park with a good friend of ours. The dogs had a wonderful time and the service dog in training that she is sitting for the weekend came along too. Shimmer, Vengeance and Buddy always have a great time and I have two very pleased and tired dogs laying at my feet as I type this. What a wonderful day.blog 026 This was exactly what I needed to refresh and regroup. And what’s even more wonderful, tomorrow we will be going again! Today, I’m finally getting back into the swing of things and it feels great!

“Sometimes our lives have to be completely shaken up, changed, and rearranged to relocate us to the place we’re meant to be.” -Unknown

One comment on “Answers

  1. garden98110 says:

    Teddy is my first service dog. He assists me with neurological and cognitive disabilities. This December, Teddy turned 20 years old. He is a Lhasa Apso. A few years ago, Teddy became ill. Others insisted it was time for me to begin training another dog, also a Lhasa. Her name is Sehren. It has been a lot of work, but the the result is that Teddy has helped train Sehren, and Sehren helps Teddy, now deaf and blind. Each living creature displays its own intelligence and will to cooperate. We adapt to communicate our intelligence successfully. This is a big part of happiness in the Healing Garden – The Healing Garden gardener

Leave a comment